Events

Although the Shipyards Night Market started 2 weeks ago, the weather has been dismal to say the least. Last Friday was pretty scarce as the cold wind blew into the beer gardens at sunset. To be honest, it was kind of nice being able to enjoy the market (minus the crowds) but it did feel like something was missing–that warm summer air perhaps?

If you’ve been paying attention to the weather like we have, desperately waiting to see that beautiful sun emoji, then you’re probably aware of the heat wave we’re about to get for the next week (or two even!). So if our spidey senses are correct, this Friday’s Night Market will be one for the books. Picture wearing shorts, sandals and mayyyybe a light sweater while you peruse the food trucks or chill in the beer garden. Sounds like summer to us, and we couldn’t be more excited.

Here’s what’s going on this Friday:
LIVE MUSIC
 Adam Woodall Band takes the stage at 7pm.

BEER GARDEN
– Featuring local craft beer from Black Kettle and Deep Cove Brewing as well as non-beer options like Lonetree Cider and Organic Betty’s Vodka Ice Tea (actually delish).
– Hard bar is stocked with Deep Cove Vodka and Gin
– White and Red Wine for the wineos
– Must be 19+ to enter.
LOCAL MARKET (in and around the Pipe Shop)
The Shipyards Night Market believes in a local lifestyle, showcasing BC’s artisans, bakers and farmers. Products include; jewelry, clothing, kids wear, bakers, produce, preserves, soaps, organic meats, honey, plants, chocolate and many more must have handmade products.
FOOD TRUCKS
DO NOT eat dinner before you go to the Night Market, or you’ll be sorry. There are around 35 food trucks to tickle any food fancy you have. Grab your food and head to the pier to eat with a view.

The Shipyards Night Market happens every Friday from 5-10pm until September 29th.

Photo cc www.instagram.com/thedistrikt

Distrikt Homecoming

WHO: Distrikt Movement

WHEN: Thursday April 13 – Saturday April 15

WHERE: Distrikt MovementThe Pipe Shop

Last year was District High, now this year is the homecoming. The Distrikt Movement is taking over the Pipe Shop for 3 days of celebration to pay homage to 3 years of community.  Festivities will include an art show, a pizza party, an array of their signature fitness classes such as The Weak ender and CRUSH HUSH, intimate speaker series and the extravaganza will be polished off with a good old-fashioned party with food, drinks and music.

All the proceeds from this event will go straight to Spaceships, which creates space for youth to cultivate powerful relationship and leadership tools through yoga and movement.

TICKETS 

 

Fall For Local

WHEN: Saturday April 29 – Sunday April 30

WHERE: The Pipe Shop

This local pop-up market is back again for a two-day shop small event. Discover 75+ amazing, local independent brands and get your shop on. Other perks include FREE COFFEE, a braid bar, food trucks, DIY stations, music and more.

Ummm, they had us at free coffee.

TICKETS 

 

Gala of Grace

WHO: North Shore Crisis Services Society

WHEN: Friday April 28

WHERE: The Pipe Shop

The second annual Gala of Grace is a ladies luncheon to help raise funds to support the North Shore Crisis Services Society, who has been supporting women and children fleeing abuse for over 35 years. Enjoy a welcome cocktail reception with live jazz performances by Amanda Wood, a silent and live auction, some inspiring words from keynote speaker Mary-Jo Dionne and a luncheon put on by the Pinnacle Hotel.

Do you have an upcoming event? Please e-mail details to nicole@lowerlonsdale.ca 

Thanks to everyone who participated in this week’s competition! Scroll down to check out our Top 10 photos. The Botto Team is stoked to give this week’s winner a $50 Gift Card to Buddhaful! Have you ever had one of their smoothies? They’re fantastic.

Scroll down for info on how to enter and to see our amazing Top 10!

HOW IT WORKS:

EVERY MONDAY we are going to present our top 10 photos of the week PLUS announce one lucky winner who will recieve a prize.

HOW TO ENTER:
  1. Post your photo to Instagram (only images dated within the respective week will qualify, so no old photos please).
  2. Use the hashtag #LowerLonsdale in the caption.
  3. TAG @lowerlonsdale IN the photo (this is a MUST in order to win the prize)
  4. That’s it!

NOTE: You don’t need to be a professional photographer to enter, we’re looking for anything that shows off how cool our neighbourhood and community are, we want to see your perspective.

ANOTHER NOTE: You can submit as many images as you want–no limit baby.

Here are this week’s picks and our lucky winner!

10.

#Lowerlonsdale – you’re a real beauty! ☀️@lowerlonsdale #lonsdalequay #sunnysunday

A photo posted by Christie Pike (@piker_roo) on

9.

8.

Sunny days #lowerlonsdale

A photo posted by Steve Palmer (@steveyp94) on

7.

Nighty night, Vancouver ✌🏼 🌝 . . . . . . #Vancouver #Lolo #LowerLonsdale #Sunset #VancityBuzz #Skyline #SundayFunday

A photo posted by Tara Armstrong (@tarajarmstrong) on

6.

5.

Happy Friday the 13th

A photo posted by joan jayson (@joan.of.van) on

4.

what “let’s take a photo, we look cool” turns into

A photo posted by sarah 🌱 (@salmoir) on

3.

2.

“Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you!” – Dr. Seuss #wednesdaywisdom

A photo posted by Hollyburn Properties Limited (@hollyburnproperties) on

1. WINNER

Congrats to @stevefsavage for winning this week’s challenge. DM us on Instagram to collect your prize!

Special thanks to this week’s prize partners.

botto-logo-faces

Friday, April 1

Visiting Canadian naval ship @ the Burrard Dry Docks

Gala of Grace @ the Pipe Shop

Saturday, April 2

MEC North Vancouver Race 2 (Seymour Demonstration Forest)

Sunday, April 3

Breakin’ Bread North Shore Industry Night @ Finch & Barley

Monday, April 4

Tuesday, April 5

Wednesday, April 6

Thursday, April 7

Friday, April 8

Saturday, April 9

Arts & Culture Day @ Lonsdale Quay

Spring Home Reno Show @ The View on Lonsdale

Saturday Night Boxing #49 @ Griffins

Sunday, April 10

Fall for Local Spring Market @ the Pipe Shop

Breakin’ Bread North Shore Industry Night @ Finch & Barley

Monday, April 11

Tuesday, April 12

Lonsdale Quay’s 30th Anniversary Celebration

Jazz at the Gallery (2121 Lonsdale Avenue)

Wednesday, April 13

Thursday, April 14

Friday, April 15

North Shore Writers Festival

Saturday, April 16

Spring Savour Food Festival & Lonsdale Quay

North Shore Writers Festival

Farm Gate Sales @ Loutet Farm

Sunday, April 17

Breakin’ Bread North Shore Industry Night @ Finch & Barley

Monday, April 18

Tuesday, April 19

Musical Mornings at the Gallery (2121 Lonsdale Avenue)

Wednesday, April 20

Thursday, April 21

Girls Night Out @ Unity Clothing

Friday, April 22

Saturday, April 23

Family Fest @ Lonsdale Quay

Wine Maker’s Dinner @ Pinnacle at The Pier

Farm Gate Sales @ Loutet Farm

Sunday, April 24

Breakin’ Bread North Shore Industry Night @ Finch & Barley

Monday, April 25

CNV Public Information Session on The Shipyards – Lot 5 Development @ the Pipe Shop

Tuesday, April 26

Wednesday, April 27

Thursday, April 28

Friday, April 29

Saturday, April 30

Corks & Forks Long Table Dinner @ Lonsdale Quay

Farm Gate Sales @ Loutet Farm

Tuesday, March 1

Wednesday, March 2

Thursday, March 3

Winter Watershed Snowshoe Tours

Friday, March 4

Saturday, March 5

Deja Vu Vintage Market in The Pipe Shop

North Shore Art Crawl

International Women’s Day Celebration and Fundraiser at The View on Lonsdale (a night benefitting the North Shore Women’s Centre)

Sunday, March 6

North Shore Art Crawl

Monday, March 7

Shred for the Cause

Tuesday, March 8

Wednesday, March 9

North Shore International Film Series – Rams (Iceland)

Thursday, March 10

Unity North Vancouver Girls Night Out

Winter Watershed Snowshoe Tours

Friday, March 11

Saturday, March 12

Winter Watershed Snowshoe Tours

Sunday, March 13

St. Patrick’s Day at Lonsdale Quay

Monday, March 14

Shred for the Cause

Tuesday, March 15

Wednesday, March 16

Thursday, March 17

St. Patrick’s Day at Deep Cove Brewers

Winter Watershed Snowshoe Tours

Friday, March 18

North Shore Food and Drink Festival

North Vancouver Spring Home Expo

Saturday, March 19

North Shore Food and Drink Festival

North Vancouver Spring Home Expo

Acuarela Swimwear & Qube Clothing Pop-up Shop

Winter Watershed Snowshoe Tours

Sunday, March 20

North Vancouver Spring Home Expo

Monday, March 21

Shred for the Cause

Tuesday, March 22

Yoga in the Gallery at the Gordon Smith Gallery of Canadian Art

Wednesday, March 23

Thursday, March 24

Friday, March 25

Saturday, March 26

Sunday, March 27

Local Love Market at the Pipe Shop

Easter at Lonsdale Quay

Monday, March 28

Shred for the Cause

Earth Hour at Lonsdale Quay

Tuesday, March 29

Musical Mornings at the Gordon Smith Gallery of Canadian Art

Wednesday, March 30

North Shore International Film Festival – The Lady in the Van

Thursday, March 31

Friday, January 1

2016 Penguin Plunge at Panorama Park

Bipolar Bear Swim at Ambleside

Saturday, January 2

Sunday, January 3

Monday, January 4

Tuesday, January 5

Wednesday, January 6

Salsa dancing at the Pipe Shop – every Wednesday!

Thursday, January 7

Art Rental Show Opening Reception

Friday, January 8

Art Rental Show at the CityScape Community Art Space – on until January 30th

Saturday, January 9

Sunday, January 10

Monday, January 11

Tuesday, January 12

Wednesday, January 13

Salsa dancing at the Pipe Shop – every Wednesday!

Thursday, January 14

Friday, January 15

Dine Out Vancouver – on until January 31st

Saturday, January 16

Distrikt High School at the Pipe Shop

Sunday, January 17

Distrikt High School at the Pipe Shop

Monday, January 18

Tuesday, January 19

MUSICAL MORNINGS in the Gallery

Wednesday, January 20

Salsa dancing at the Pipe Shop – every Wednesday!

Thursday, January 21

Friday, January 22

Saturday, January 23

Talk at the Top 2016 – a youth led mental health summit

City Park Stewards volunteer invasive plant pull at Wagg Park

Sunday, January 24

North Vancouver Brunch Crawl

Monday, January 25

Free People Boot Camp in the Pipe Shop

Tuesday, January 26

Wednesday, January 27

Salsa dancing at the Pipe Shop – every Wednesday!

Thursday, January 28

Friday, January 29

Saturday, January 30

Sunday, January 31

Tuesday, December 1

Canyon Lights at the Capilano Suspension Bridge (daily until January 3rd)

Peak of Christmas at Grouse Mountain (daily until January 4th)

Hi-Light Festival at Park & Tilford Gardens (daily until December 31st)

Wednesday, December 2

Presentation House Theatre presents: Mrs. Claus’s Kitchen (runs until December 20th)

Thursday, December 3

Friday, December 4

Hi-Light Festival Family Friday Nights

Christmas at the Sea to Sky Gondola (runs until January 3rd)

Saturday, December 5

Eastside Flea Holiday Market at the Pipe Shop

North Vancouver Christmas Festival at the Shipyards

Carol Ships Parade of Lights – watch from the pier 7:30 – 8:30pm

Christmas at Lonsdale Quay – events from 12 – 5pm

Christmas Concert at Presentation House Theatre

North Vancouver Holiday Bazaar

Dundarave Festival of Lights

Sunday, December 6

North Vancouver Holiday Bazaar

Monday, December 7

Tuesday, December 8

Yoga in the Gallery

Wednesday, December 9

Salsa Dancing in the Pipe Shop (every Wednesday)

Thursday, December 10

Friday, December 11

Hi-Light Festival Family Friday Nights

North Vancouver Christmas Party at Unity Clothing

Saturday, December 12

Got Craft? Holiday Market at the Pipe Shop

Christmas at Lonsdale Quay – events from 12 – 5pm

Dundarave Festival of Lights

Sunday, December 13

Got Craft? Holiday Market at the Pipe Shop

Monday, December 14

Tuesday, December 15

Wednesday, December 16

Thursday, December 17

Pinnacle’s Business Community & Neighbourhood Luncheon

Friday, December 18

Find Your Happy Dance With Spandy Andy @ Yoga Root

Shipyards Christmas Market

Hi-Light Festival Family Friday Nights

Saturday, December 19

Shipyards Christmas Market

Dundarave Festival of Lights

Annual Holiday Event at MAB Art Studio

Sunday, December 20

Shipyards Christmas Market

Carol Ships Celebration at Panorama Park

Deep Cove Brewers + Distillers Holiday Party

Monday, December 21

Tuesday, December 22

Wednesday, December 23

Thursday, December 24

Friday, December 25    MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Saturday, December 26

Sunday, December 27

Monday, December 28

Tuesday, December 29

Wednesday, December 30

Thursday, December 31

Family First NYE on Mt. Seymour

Family NYE on Grouse Mountain

NYE 2016 at Browns Socialhouse Lonsdale